Inspirational Post (Kinda?)

Have you ever been unhappy in life?  You’re not where you wanna be in your job, school, family situation?  If you answered yes to these questions you aren’t alone.  I’ve recently been thinking about this too; perhaps I’ve found the root of my depression.  For those of you who don’t know me I’m currently in my senior year at York College with an Accounting Major and Creative Writing Minor.  When I started college accounting was never something I really really wanted to do with my life; I wanted to graduate with a degree that would make me good money so I could do the artsy stuff that I love doing.  Both of my parents are involved with accounting; my mom in the accounting department of a label manufacturing company, my dad a CPA in an accounting firm.  So, I thought it’d be a good fit and my parents seemed proud that I following their footsteps.  However, as I these years have gone by in this major I’ve grown more and more depressed with it.  I’ve failed some of the core classes and it started to feel like I would never pass them.  It took an emotional break down for me to realize that.  So I’m taking control of my life and going through a lot of changes.  I’m switching my major and as soon as I decided that a weight was lifted off my shoulder.  Home life is negatively effecting me; I’m moving in with my dad.  These changes are extremely scary for me, someone who doesn’t particularly like change, but I know these decisions will make me so much happier.  The point of this post is do things that make you happy.  My uncle told me “Do what you love and the money will follow”, so I’m going to try and follow his words.  And if you aren’t in the spot you want to be in, then maybe it’s time for some change (as scary as that sounds).  Start doing the things you like.  So I’m going back to my sewing machine to do what I love to do.  What are you going to do?

One thought on “Inspirational Post (Kinda?)

  1. I don’t even know if it’s “do what you love and the money will follow.” I think the main point is that if you don’t enjoy what you’re doing, how are you going to be that person who explores it deeply enough to make important changes to it? How are you going to be the one to innovate the process, even if it’s just for your company?

    That’s the point, isn’t it? We shouldn’t be studying just so that we can make money, because frankly that’s really selfish. When we study, it should be to further the discipline, so we can share our findings with others, and work together to build it better.

    …….In my opinion. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

